You may have chosen a wrong setting when you restored your course.
Instead of clicking the merge option, you choose the delete one.
This caused your students to be deleted from your course.
We recommend using the import process when setting up your course to
keep this from happening. To return your students to your course you will
need to contact support at OIT by phone at (573) 651-2298, or by email